Praying the Lord’s Prayer

bluetreemoon

Photo taken in Nebraska.

This method of prayer uses the Lord’s Prayer as a guide for the many topics to include in prayer. You can expand these guidelines by adding additional items that come to your mind as you pray.

Our Father:

You are everywhere present, all-knowing, all-powerful and unchanging, You deliver me from fear of the past, present and future. You give companionship, provide for my needs and give me protection from Satan, the evil one.

who art in Heaven:

A place of perfect rest and peace. Thank you that in the future I have a home there with You.

hallowed be Thy Name:

Lord, I lift Your Name on high. I praise You for Your awesomeness revealed through Your creation. I thank You that I can come to You in Your Name to receive power, strength and wisdom.

Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done:

I yield myself to You. I trust in You with all my heart and do not want to lean on my own understanding. In all my ways, I acknowledge You and ask You to direct my paths (Proverbs 3:5-6).

on Earth as it is in Heaven:

I recognize that everything is controlled by you.

give us this day our daily bread:

Father, I am trusting that You will take care of all my needs for this day, whether they be physical, mental, spiritual or emotional. I thank You for how You have done this in the past and I know I can trust You in the future.

forgive us our sins:

Show me anything that is wrong in my life so I may confess it and walk in right relationship with You.

as we forgive those who have sinned against us:

Give me the strength to forgive anyone who has hurt me and to remove all bitterness, jealousy, malice, etc. that I might have against another person.

lead us not into temptation, but deliver use from evil:

Keep me from the things that Satan would like to use to cause me to do wrong. Cover me with Your armor: the helmet of salvation, breastplate of righteousness, a waist girded with truth, the shield of faith and the sword of the Spirit (Ephesians 6:12-17).

for thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory forever, Amen.

I recognize that You rule over everything, have all power, all wisdom and are present everywhere. Thank you, Lord. It is because of You that I exist, so You deserve all of the glory for everything. I pray these things in Jesus’ Name, Amen.

**You can find the Lord’s Prayer in Matthew 6:8-13

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

